SMH medical staff elects 2011 officers

<< Return

SMH medical staff elects 2011 officers - Friday, March 4, 2011

Members of the medical staff of Slidell Memorial Hospital recently elected the Medical Staff Officers for 2011. Janine Parker, M.D., board certified in critical care medicine and pulmonology, has been named as the 2011 Chief of Staff. She replaces Ratnaker Pernenkil, M.D., in that position.

Other officers who have been appointed are: Chief of Staff-Elect James Griffee, M.D.; Secretary-Treasurer Richelle Legnon, M.D.; Member-at-Large Jay Silverstein, M.D.; Past Chief of Staff Ratnaker Pernenkil, M.D.; and SMH Board of Commissioners Medical Staff Representative Clinton Sharp, M.D.

In addition, Department Chairs, Vice Chairs and Committee/Workgroup Chairs have also been elected for 2010:

Department Chairs
   Department of Pediatrics              H. Elizabeth Stevenson, M.D.

   Department of OB/GYN                  Ingrid Roskos, M.D.

   Department of Surgery                   Robert Shafor, M.D.

   Department of Medicine                  Daniel Tveit, M.D.

   Dept of Cardiovascular Services   Victor Echenique, M.D.

Department Vice Chairs

   Department of Pediatrics               Madhuri Dixit, M.D.

   Department of OB/GYN                  Melissa Smith, M.D.

   Department of Surgery                   Heather Bronaugh, M.D.
   Department of Medicine                 Diego Espaillat, M.D.

   Dept of Cardiovascular Services   Vasanth Bethala, M.D.

Committee/Workgroup Chairs

   P&T/IP Workgroup                           M. Faith Joubert, M.D.

   Cancer Activities                              Agustin Suarez, M.D.

   Library/CME                                      David Slagle, M.D.

   Medical Staff QA                              Kraig deLanzac, M.D.

   Critical Care                                    Janine Parker, M.D.

   Utilization Committee                    Michael Casey, M.D.


Photo identification: Janine Parker, M.D., 2011 SMH Medical Staff Chief of Staff

Slidell Memorial Hospital is a full-service 182-bed acute care not-for-profit community hospital located at 1001 Gause Blvd., in the heart of Slidell. Founded in 1959, SMH serves as a primary healthcare resource for families in St. Tammany Parish, La.; Pearl River County, Miss.; and the greater Mississippi Gulf Coast region. For more information, visit

Media Contact: Sam Caruso, Jr.



© Copyright 2018, Slidell Memorial Hospital. All rights reserved.